WIT Awards

The Women in Technology (WIT) Awards Celebration recognizes women in technology who’ve had an impact in the central Pennsylvania region – past, present, and future. It brings together hundreds of participants to honor the accomplishments and contribution of twenty-seven finalists across nine award categories. The event also awards scholarships to female students pursuing STEAM disciplines at regional colleges to support and encourage the development of the next generation of talent.

2019 FINALISTS and past award RECIPIENTS

The Moxie Award

Recognizes a pioneer who has blazed the trail for other women in technology to follow.

2019 Finalists:
Sheri Collins, Pennsylvania Department of Community & Economic Development
Kathleen Pavelko, WITF
Rita Reynolds, County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania

2018 Recipient:
Bili Mattes, Harrisburg University

2017 Recipient:
Rebecca Bickley, PA Department of Transportation

Impact Award – Private Sector/Enterprise

Recognizes a woman in technology whose contributions have had an impact in the Private Sector / Enterprise market.

2019 Finalists:
Laura Brown, P.H. Glatfelter
Debbie Houser, GeoDecisions
Sonya Zook, Armstrong Flooring, Inc.

2018 Recipient:
Not Conferred

2017 Recipient:
Britta Schatz, Penn National Insurance


Impact Award – Public Sector/Government

Recognizes a woman in technology whose contributions have had an impact in the Public Sector / Government.

2019 Finalists:
Kathryn Hartzell, Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission
April Rothermel, Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission
Julie Snyder, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Office of Administration
Deana Vance, Pennsylvania Game Commission

2018 Recipient:
Kim Poretta, Office of Administration, Commonwealth of PA

2017 Recipient:
Sharon Minnich, Office of Administration, Commonwealth of PA

Impact Award – Entrepreneurial / Small Business

Recognize a woman in technology whose contributions have had an impact in the Entrepreneurial / Small Business sector.

2019 Finalists:
Ruthann Black, BlackCSI
Anne Kirby, The Candy Factory & The Sweetcore
Lee Shand Snyder, Benefix

2018 Recipient:
Lori Danials, Momentum, Inc.

2017 Recipient:
Stephanie Reisinger, Evalytica

Impact Award – Healthcare

Recognize a woman in technology whose contributions have had an impact in the Healthcare sector.

2019 Finalists:
Suzanne Engels, Capital BlueCross
Kim Ireland, Aspire Ventures and Smart Health Innovation Lab
Erika Swift, Penn State College of Medicine

2018 Recipient:
Leesa Allen, PA Department of Human Services

2017 Recipient:
Patricia Ingerick, Geneia

Impact Award – Education

Recognize a woman in technology whose contributions have had an impact in the Education sector.

2019 Finalists:
Annie Hughes, Penn State Harrisburg
Heather Lister, Construct Learning
Kelly Powell Logan, Harrisburg University of Science and Technology

2018 Recipient:
Nicole Ernst, HACC

2017 Recipient:
Jessica Garrigan, School Director of Lancaster

DIT Award

Stands for Diversity and Inclusion in Technology, this award recognizes an individual’s active commitment to inclusion, advancement and diversity in technology sector.

2019 Finalists:
Diane Crawford, DIPCPA – Diversity & Inclusion Professionals of Central Pennsylvania
Jennifer Oswald, Momentum, Inc.

2018 Recipient:
Cheryl Tichonevicz, CAI

2017 Recipient:
Michael Chorney, Penn State Harrisburg

Art + Design Award

Recognizes a woman whose use of technology is advancing the practice of art and design.

2019 Finalists:
Morgan Farnsworth, TAIT
Autumn Frantz, Computer Aid Inc.
Sarah Shirk, Atomic Design, Inc.

Next Gen Award

Recognizes an up and coming young woman who is making a difference in technology in our region.

2019 Finalists:
Jamie Kopko, Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry
Amanda Minner, Members 1st Federal Credit Union
Ola Rashwan, Penn State Harrisburg

2018 Recipient:
Mary Elizabeth McCulloch, Project Vive

2017 Recipient:
Kelsey Kirk, Defense Logistics Agency


as of 4/29/19